Current Students

BSN Graduating Class Achieves 92% to Exceed Examination Goal

Texas Board of Nursing Removes Conditional Approval Status

ABILENE, TEXAS – (Oct. 26, 2017) – The Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing (PHSSN) is delighted to announce that the Texas Board of Nursing granted full approval to the baccalaureate nursing education program. This decision is based on the outstanding efforts of the May 2017 graduating class who successfully achieved 92.00 percent for the NCLEX-RN (National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses). PHSSN faculty and staff, led by Dr. Sheila Garland, Dean of the Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing, carefully developed and executed a plan, which led to the successful outcomes of the program in one year.

Dr. Garland stated that, “I speak for all the faculty, staff and administrators when I say that we are very pleased with the efforts our students, staff and faculty have put in during the last year to achieve and exceed the NCLEX-RN pass rate requirement. We all answered the wake-up call with dedication, hard work, and faithful prayers for our program’s success.”

The Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing program is, and has been, fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) through June 30, 2019. The Texas Board of Nursing approval is separate from the national accreditation process.

PHSSN is a consortium of Hardin-Simmons University and McMurry University. PHSSN has 106 students, and of those, about 80 are Bachelor of Science in Nursing students. It is the only intercollegiate program in the nation that serves two private universities. The school offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in nursing (Bachelor of Science in Nursing, RN to BSN, Master of Science in Nursing including two tracks – Family Nurse Practitioner and Nursing Education, and the Post-Master’s Certificate).

The school dates back to 1979 when the Abilene Intercollegiate School of Nursing (AISN) was established as an educational consortium consisting of Hardin-Simmons University, Abilene Christian University (ACU), and McMurry University. AISN changed its name to the Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing in 2004, and ACU separated from the consortium in May 2014. The consortium’s continued goal is to successfully prepare professional practitioners, and educators to serve all communities of interest safely

PHSSN would like to thank our students, faculty, alumni and communities of interest for your support and assistance during this process. We look forward to a long and fruitful partnership.